Never felt so good!

There is no greater joy in life than the joy of creating something

I love this quote by the fairly obscure Indian poet, Abhay Kumar. Not because I’m into fairly obscure Indian poetry…it just rings so true with me. Everything truly joyful in my life is either something I’ve either made (fudge mainly) or collaborated with others to create (an electro-pop ballad that I co-wrote and sang on; an amazing training workshop where I learned as much as my delegates; last-a-lifetime memories in that gap year travelling around; my kids).

My recent foray into the fabulously crafty world of needle felting has reaffirmed my “joy of creating something”. It’s lovely to have a finished product, something tangible, from your time. I guess that’s one of the reasons why I’d gotten so hacked off at life lately – all my time was ebbing away with bugger all to show for it. Hour after hour cleaning and all I can see is the bits of the house I haven’t tackled yet. All that time traipsing around buying food and – damn them! – the inhabitants of my house have gone and eaten it again!

Unfinished business is frustrating as hell.

Having tried loads of crafts over the years, I realised they generally took lots of time and effort to get good at (I’m impatient), required lots of space (one day I WILL have a painting studio. Or corner.) or you needed to spend a bunch of cash getting the supplies before you can create anything (wool costs how much!? You are kidding me, right!?). Now I’ve managed to get up and running as a needle felter (is that even a term?) almost instantly and with minimal supplies. If you’re looking for a fun new hobby and you’re in any way crafty, I can wholeheartedly recommend you give needle felting a try. Word of warning though – it’s highly addictive.

Spending less than £25 in Hobbycraft, I was good to go with a few needles and several packs of wool roving. I’d never even heard of roving until a week ago – lovely, fluffy, fleecy stuff which can be formed and basically ‘sculpted’ into whatever creation takes your fancy. The process for this? Repeatedly stabbing the wool with the barbed needle. Yep – repeatedly stabbing – definitely appeals to my inner psycho.

I’ve found the most satisfyingly straightforward video tutorial to make sleepy mice. SLEEPY MICE! See, you are feeling warm inside just thinking about it, aren’t you?

I had a go at this yesterday. Can’t say I’m 100% happy with the end result, but I’m chuffed at what I learned not to do and I still have a little mouse that can hide in a teacup or fall asleep on top of someone’s book and give them an adorable surprise.

I’d never subscribed to a Youtube channel before but Sara Renzulli of Sarafina Fiber Art is such a great teacher and generally so enjoyable to watch and listen to, I signed up right away. I’m looking forward to trying out more of her projects whenever I can find the time. If I ever get even vaguely near her level of skill, I’ll be thrilled to bits. Not kidding myself though – I’m a hobby felter (another invented term?) and she’s a fine artist. But it’s fun to feel inspired!

Leave a Reply

